New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

421 Bird
Tribal Scout

USA
29 Posts

Posted - 04 Sep 2015 :  10:26:26 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have a 1965 421 motor. #76 heads, Crower 60916 cam, Performer RPM intake, and Holley 750 DP carb. Compression is 10.75 and I run 108 octane fuel.

Since I a using a Pertronix distributor instead of points, should I increase the gap from 0.35? If so, what do you recommend?

Also, the distributor has adjustable vacuum advance. The factory setting is 16 degrees. Is this too much? The cam card says that the cam has 4 degrees of advance ground into the cam. Is that reflected in my timing numbers when setting the timing?

Obviously, I am new to setting timing. Thanks for the help.

Joe

2barrelpower
Sitting Bull

USA
135 Posts

Posted - 04 Sep 2015 :  11:29:49 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Gap at .035. More is hard on coil.

On cam timing, no. Four degrees of advance ground into the cam does not affect timing in a 1 to 1 sense. It will affect the characteristics of your engine, so in a roundabout way yes it will affect optimal timing, but not in the sense that you're asking.

As far as vac advance, 16 is in the ball park.

Someone will come along and link to or write out the proper procedure.

69FB, 350P, 9 to 1, Comp 260H, Stock Valve Train, Performer Intake, 1406 Carb, Hooker Headers, Points Style, Crane XRI, Crane PS20, TH350, stock stall, 3.08 gear, and 235/60/15 Firestones.
Go to Top of Page

Admin
Ye Olde Webmaster

848 Posts

Posted - 04 Sep 2015 :  11:43:26 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Joe-
Your electronic distributor provides a bit more of an electrical pulse than the points, so you can comfortably increase spark plug gap to .045". Many HEIs during the 70s specified .060". IMO, that's probably too wide on a non-smooger performance engine.