New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ledhed76
Cochise

USA
304 Posts

Posted - 16 Jun 2010 :  9:05:21 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
So I am thinking about replacing my old worn out HEI on my '76 Formula with a MSD Ready-To-Run distributor and a Blaster 2 Coil with no ignition box...my question is where do I hook up the tach??....the old HEI has a plug for the tach....would the tach lead now hook to the coil??....Most of you guys will probably think I am crazy for spending the money on this MSD stuff but I get a severe discount from where I work....the install instructions are linked below....sorry if this is a dumb question but i am new to some of this stuff...

http://www.msdignition.com/uploadedFiles/MSDIgnitioncom/Products/distributors/8528_instructions.pdf

Edited by - ledhed76 on 16 Jun 2010 9:16:59 PM

PontiacMatt
Many Ponies

USA
1410 Posts

Posted - 16 Jun 2010 :  11:01:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think the tach would have to hook up to the coil... Is this a stock Tach? or aftermarket? no even sure if that matters...?

Here's the instructions from Auto Meter. (I just recently bought one of their tachs... They're doing a "Rebate" sale right now, I paid $120 for the tach, am eligle for a $40 rebate... I'll see what happens. Just wanted to share in case someone is thinking of buying one.)

*72' Pontiac Lemans* - Work in Progress
Go to Top of Page

ledhed76
Cochise

USA
304 Posts

Posted - 17 Jun 2010 :  07:41:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
i am trying to use the stock tach....here is some more info....do we have the inline filters??...

http://www.msdignition.com/page.aspx?id=3300&terms=tachometer
Go to Top of Page

ledhed76
Cochise

USA
304 Posts

Posted - 17 Jun 2010 :  9:16:26 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
MSD tech support claims you just hook it to the negative side of the coil....I guess I can believe them??
Go to Top of Page

PontiacMatt
Many Ponies

USA
1410 Posts