Comp Cams Vacuum Canister
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Bill Boyle
Horse Feathers (Charter Member)

USA
3992 Posts

Posted - 26 May 2010 :  10:11:48 AM  Show Profile  Visit Bill Boyle's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Low vacuum because of larger cam is insufficient to fully power my brake booster on my 79 TA (4 wheel disc brakes). Has anybody had the same problem and if so has anyone overcome the low vac by using a Comp Cams vac canister. I'm not experienced with this and it's important to know whether the saved vacuum will replenish itself for repeated stops. I don't want a system that will store vacuum for only one or two stops and then have the brakes feel like manual ones.

"Dedicated to keeping the classic Pontiac engine alive."

----
400 bored +.030, forged TRW pistons, ported 62 heads, Heddman headers, 2.5 SS dual exhaust X Pypes, Comp 276AH10 cam, Scorpion 1.65 RR, 850 Q-jet, stock intake & tuned HEI; original owner.

Phil
The Great White Buffalo

USA
6273 Posts

Posted - 26 May 2010 :  1:53:48 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've had this problem since the early 80's. Back then it started when I put a Crower "Monarch 280" cam in my old 350. The two noticable things that went bye bye was the power brakes and the low end torque. I've just gotten so used to it over the years that each engine hasn't presented a significant difference from the original low vacuum condition.

The vacuum canister will reduce the amount of vacuum loss occurring with each brake application, essentially fooling the brake pedal by creating a larger volume of vacuum. The saved vacuum will replenish itself between pedal applications. To me it is more like a treatment than a cure, that more often than not produces satisfying results.

"Chevy": even the name sounds cheap.
Go to Top of Page

Bill Boyle

USA
3992 Posts

Posted - 26 May 2010 :  2:24:33 PM  Show Profile  Visit Bill Boyle's Homepage  Reply with Quote