New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

C-lane
Tribal Scout

USA
16 Posts

Posted - 28 Jan 2019 :  3:07:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello all! I'm new to the Pontiac community. Anyways, I just recently purchased a 67 tempest. first classic car that wasn't a ford. So I'm new to all things gm. The car came with a 389. I purchased a 1975 400 numbers are 500557 for 450 from a friend. The block is stock. The heads are off and are 6x-8 heads. They have had work on them but I don't know what. From my observation it looks like cleaned, new springs ect. But no real modifications that I can tell. Not sure how to tell if port or polished or milled for that matter. It did come with all new parts and gaskets. New starter, water pump, valve covers, oil pan and ect. I can always return to him if bad deal. But he said he had like a 1000 in heads so I thought it was a deal since the 389 is bone stock and in need of complete restore with no new parts or anything.
My question is what should I do if anything to this motor. I plan on putting rhodes original lifters in it and I thought about putting the 1.65 ratio rockers on it. It's just going to be a street car but I kinda want to be able to stomp it and have some torque. I also like a nice sounding idle.

C-lane
Tribal Scout

USA
16 Posts

Posted - 28 Jan 2019 :  3:18:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Or should I just install a cam?
Go to Top of Page

Steve C.
Chief PONTIAC

2016 Posts

Posted - 28 Jan 2019 :  3:26:26 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I would make efforts to find out more about the head work before any cam consideration. Combustion chamber cc's, installed height, springs used, especially if modified to accept the higher ratio rocker arms,etc.

Edited by - Steve C. on 28 Jan 2019 3:27:21 PM
Go to Top of Page

Bill Boyle
Horse Feathers (Charter Member)

USA
5264 Posts