New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

ta5150
Tribal Scout

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 02 Jan 2019 :  11:41:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi everyone this is my first post as a member of this site. I have owned my 79 T/A since 2003 when I dragged it out of a farm field, its come a long way since then. I've been a mechanic for many years, but until now I've never been a member of a forum. I am now a member of two pontiac forums and I posted this on both.

I built a 462 stroker from my 400, and first bolted on a Performer intake I got at a swap meet.

Engine- 462 eagle crank and rods. 9.3:1. 6X heads, CNC ported at SD. Summit 2802 cam, 1.65 roller rockers. Quadrajet I rebuilt after reading the book on them. HEI, 32 degrees advance all in at 2900 rpm.

Car- 79 trans am, tremec tko-500, factory 3.23 rear.

My research found conflicting claims of which intake is better for this engine, performer or performer RPM. So I decided to make the switch and collect data. I measured acceleration with a DRAGY GPS meter, if you don't know what it is, google it, its awesome. I made acceleration runs from 25-55 mph only, which is a single 2nd gear pull all the way to redline. This measures engine performance without worrying about shifting, traction, etc. All runs were done on the same road, weather conditions very similar. I made 5 runs each and took the average. Full fuel tank all runs. I made these tests as consistently as I could.

Performer intake was sent to SD performance and had it CNC port matched to my 6X heads which were also CNC ported at SD. I cut the plane divider under the secondaries .5 inch deep and blended smooth. Felpro 1233 gaskets. Water crossover separated and ports aligned.

Performer RPM intake I port matched myself at home by hand. Separated water crossover and aligned ports. Felpro 1233 gaskets.