New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

cooldude48818
Tribal Scout

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 18 Oct 2017 :  9:00:25 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've been doing some searching and can't find the info I'm looking for so here I am. I have a bone stock 400 Pontiac engine. I have the heads off getting cleaned up and new stem seals and exhaust manifold bolts fixed. I would like to put a little better cam in it but I'd like to use the stock springs and push rods and such. What would be a good cam to do that with and retain all stock parts? Any and all help would be appreciated!

cortcomp
Coyote

USA
5335 Posts

Posted - 19 Oct 2017 :  10:58:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit cortcomp's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I'm no cam expert, but i feel like we're going to see recommendations for the summit 2801 an 2802 here?
Go to Top of Page

Blued and Painted
Chief PONTIAC

USA
3406 Posts

Posted - 19 Oct 2017 :  11:09:24 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Old springs will not controll the valve action at the mid and hi RPM range.
Clearance must be checked between spring retainer and the top of valve guide at full lift to insure no interference with any cam over stock speck.

Here's a few cams u can investigate
Melling torquer 26204
Summit 2801
Crower 60918
Pontiac Factory cam 068

Bull Nose Formula/ 461/ Q-Jet/
TH400/ 3.08 8.5 / R44TS.

Edited by - Blued and Painted on 19 Oct 2017 11:12:29 AM
Go to Top of Page

Steve C.
Crazy Horse

1675 Posts

Posted - 19 Oct 2017 :  12:03:30 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Don't cheap out on valve springs !

Go to Top of Page

rkellerjr
Many Feathers

USA
1260 Posts

Posted - 20 Oct 2017 :  06:41:08 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I did a similar build with my 400 and used the Comp Cam XE262H instead of the summit cams. I retained all stock components except for the rockers, I went with roller tip rockers.