New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

BDH79TA
Tribal Scout

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 10 Oct 2017 :  09:28:40 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks for a great forum. My name is Bryan, I'm 48 yo and I live just south of Rolla,MO. I'm a newbie to the forum, not to Pontiacs. I bought my first car at 15, a 67 LeMans. Bone stock 326, running and driving. $500 for that far back then. My how prices have changed. Had a 66 LeMans (paid $500 for it also) after totalling the 67. Built a 68 RAIII 400 for that one. Had a moment of stupidity and sold it. Probably the last "real" Pontiac I've owned. Had a 78 Gold Edition T/A for several years. Bone stock 180 HP 400, but I realized then that I love the second gen Firebird.

Years ago, while driving OTR I bought a 79 T/A. Never had the time to work on it so it has just been sitting. Probably a dozen years while I collected parts and made more lists and plans than can be imagined. Recently I decided it was time to actually get started on the car. While searching for parts I came across a really solid 79, low optioned, 301 4bbl T/A. Kid had blown the low powered, anemic 71 400 but everything else was in great shape. Picked it up on the cheap, figuring I could swap in a running engine and just start swapping parts from my high optioned T/A.